Neiman and Thrall Honored as Leadership Luminaries at RLI Launch Event;
GE Chairman Immelt Delivers Keynote Speech

July 13, 2012

Jeffrey Immelt, CEO and chairman of GE

Speaking to a room of 200 attendees at the RLI Luminary Leaders awards dinner, Mr. Immelt spoke on health care, leadership
nd the future of radiology technology. He suggested that the best way to redesign health care is to make it a great patient experience.

American College of Radiology (ACR) Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Harvey L. Neiman, MD, FACR, and former Chair of the ACR Board of Chancellors, James H. Thrall, MD, FACR, are the inaugural recipients of the ACR Radiology Leadership Institute “Leadership Luminary” Award. Neiman and Thrall were recognized July 12 at the RLI launch gala in Chicago. Jeffrey Immelt, CEO and chairman of GE, served as keynote speaker for the event.

The Leadership Luminary Award represents the "summit" of the RLI program. It is an honorary designation given annually to radiologists and related professionals who possess exceptional experience, and demonstrate an unusually high level of leadership in organized radiology or organized medicine.

Neiman has been the CEO of ACR since 2003, following terms as chair of the ACR Board of Chancellors and chair of the ACR economics, education, and ultrasound commissions. He previously served as chair of the Department of Radiology at The Western Pennsylvania Hospital in Pittsburgh, chief of cardiovascular radiology at Walter Reed Army Medical Center and chief of cardiac radiology at University Hospital in Ann Arbor, MI. He has published more than 120 scientific papers in referred journals, 26 book chapters and is the author of the book, Angiography of Vascular Disease. Neiman has given more than 277 guest lectures and scientific presentations worldwide.

Thrall is Radiologist-in-Chief at the Massachusetts General Hospital, the Taveras Professor of Radiology at Harvard Medical School and a former chair of the ACR Board of Chancellors. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies and a former president of the American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS). Thrall has served on the boards of directors of the International Society of Radiology and the International Society for Strategic Studies in Radiology. He has authored more than 400 publications and reviews and is the founder and editor of the Requisites in Radiology textbook series.

“These two men are not only great doctors, but great leaders. They epitomize everything that is good about radiology and what our profession needs in its leaders moving forward. I can’t think of two finer people or physicians to receive this inaugural award,” said Cynthia S. Sherry, MD, FACR, medical director of RLI and chair of the ACR Commission on Leadership and Practice Development.

For more information on the Radiology Leadership Institute, visit

To arrange an interview with a spokesperson, contact Shawn Farley at 703-648-8936 or